The Brokenhead River Planning District was established by Order-in-Council on June 11, 1977 under the authority of The Planning Act of Manitoba (1976).  The District encompasses the Town of Beausejour as well as the Rural Municipality of Brokenhead which includes the communities of Tyndall and Garson.  The District’s Board is comprised of two representatives each from the Town of Beausejour and the Rural Municipality of Brokenhead.

Current Board Members are:

  • Ray Schirle, Mayor, Town of Beausejour
  • Don Mazur, Councillor, Town of Beausejour
  • Luke Ingeberg, Councillor R.M. of Brokenhead
  • Bruce Modrzejewski, Councillor, R.M. of Brokenhead

The District is responsible for the preparation, adoption and administration of district land use plans and related by-laws.  The District is also responsible for the day-to-day responsibilities for the administration of Zoning By-laws, Zoning Amendments and Rezoning, Zoning Enforcement, Variation Orders and Conditional Use Orders for both the Town of Beausejour and Rural Municipality of Brokenhead.
Building permits are also issued from this office for both municipalities.

Meetings are held generally on the third Wednesday of each month.  Please contact the office to confirm scheduled meeting dates.

5:30 pm – March 20th, 2019

Click here to view meeting Agenda

PLEASE NOTE:  Any party wishing to appear as a delegation shall register with the secretary at least ( 5 ) days before the board meeting and advise of the topic and scope of the presentation.

PLEASE NOTE: Inspections will be scheduled between the hours of 8:30 and 4:30 Monday to Friday.  Please see the map below indicating where and when the Building Inspector is available in your area and book your inspection accordingly.  Please allow 24 hours notice for all inspections.

Click here for Inspection Map


The office is located in the Rural Municipality of Brokenhead Office Building at the junction of PR # 302 and PTH # 44.  Office hours are Monday thru Friday, 8:30 am – 4:30 pm.

 **Please note that the implementation date for The New Home Warranty Act is being deferred, with January 1st, 2020 being established as the new effective date.  Information about The New Home Warranty Act  can be found at or by accessing the Consumer Protection Office at


Please go to

to search for registered builders & homes.


Murray Cutmore, Development Officer/Building Inspector

Office contact information:

R.M. of Brokenhead Office Building
72013 Road 42E
P.O. Box 1330
Beausejour, Manitoba
R0E 0C0

Phone: (204) 268-6705
Fax: (204) 268-1504